KXIP vs KKR Live Score

A day after being named as the new chief minister of Himachal Pradesh, the CM deignate Jai Ram Thakur on Monday got into action mode making visits to the Raj Bhawan and to hospitals and reviewing arrangements for the swearing in ceremony on Wednesday.

The swearing-in ceremony at the historic Ridge here was also attended by Union Ministers Rajnath Singh, J.P. Nadda and Nitin Gadkari, besides Chief Ministers of Bharatiya Janata Party-ruled states, along with more than 30,000 party supporters from across the state, mostly in traditional attire.

Thakur's family members, including his 80-year-old widowed mother, who belongs to a remote village in Mandi district, attended the ceremony.

The cabinet also chose to hold the first session of state Assembly at Dharamsala from January 9 to 12 in which newly elected MLAs would take oath and the election of Speaker would be held. This will be his maiden term as Chief Minister. Ms Sarveen Chaudhry is the lone woman in the cabinet.

Former chief minister Virbhadra Singh congratulated Thakur and hoped that the present government would honour the developmental programmes started by the Congress regime.

All the Ministers took the oath in Hindi except Suresh Bhardwaj and Gobind Thakur, who took the oath in Sanskrit.

Flu-related deaths higher than previously reported
So far, officials with the Oklahoma State Department of Health say that four people have died from the virus since September. Flu-related deaths worldwide are increasing according to the latest estimate from the CDC and its global health partners.

The report revealed that, on an average, asset of the state cabinet ministers is Rs 7.17 crore, with Anil Sharma topping the list with assets worth Rs 40.20 crore.

The chief minister has tried to accord a fair representation to all communities of Himachal Pradesh in the cabinet.

Bindal was named as the Speaker of the assembly.

Some senior party leaders and former ministers including Romesh Dhawala and Narinder Bragata have not been given berth in the cabinet.

BJP has registered the win with full majority and booked 44 seats in 68 member house and there are a number of the applicant including senior leaders and former ministers for a tie-up in the cabinet. One minister each hails from Kullu, Shimla, Solan, Una and Lahaul-Spiti.

Few would have considered Thakur as the next Himachal chief minister when the party went to the polls but the shock defeat of its chief ministerial candidate Prem Kumar Dhumal brought him to the centre stage.